Pavlovia does not run pilot (Error unknown resource Excel file)

Description of the problem:
PyschoPy experiment works fine offline and can read ‘conditions’ stored in main folder, where the psyexp file is stored as well. The excel document holding the correct answers is called ‘Lextale_English_stimuli.xlsx’

IMG_8245

Try reattaching the Excel file to your loop. It is currently trying to find it on your desktop (which will always fail when running online).

I would also discourage you from having your Experiment folder on your desktop. Put it in your documents folder.

How do I reattach this to my loop so it picks up online? Do I do this with PyschoPy and how?

Sorry, I’m new to all of this. As for the moving of the ‘Experiment’ folder to documents; I’m afraid if I do this, it will still look for the root folder on my desktop (which then isn’t there anymore)

Go to Builder

Double click on the loop

Click on the folder icon to attach the spreadsheet. Check the name doesn’t start with …/

Click OK

Sync with Pavlovia by pressing the sync icon

Use Ctrl shift R or an incognito tab to run the latest version online

It works! Thank you so much!

Any idea if this can detach again in the future and/or if I need to have PyschoPy open now it’s running online?

Also, if I ask participants to do the experiment via the recruitment link, where exactly does it keep the results (Excel file)?

Why would you want to detach the Excel?

No, you don’t need to keep PsychoPy open for the online version to work.

1 Like

The data files for participants recruited online will automatically download to the local data folder when you press the sync icon in Builder, so long as you are using CSV data saving instead of database.

I received the CSV data in my data folder. It does turn out like this for one paricipant:

compared to the general overview that I need (see picture 2)