How to use Microphone component?

Hi, thank you for reading my post. I’m a beginner in Psychopy. I would be very grateful if you could offer a solution to my question :cry:

PsychoPy version : 2021.2.3
Standard Standalone? (y/n) : yes
**What are you trying to achieve?: I’m compiling an experiment in which the participant sees a picture first and describes it. I would like to record the participant’s verbal response by the built-in microphone. The participant will start the recording by pressing ‘r’ on the keybord and stop it by pressing ‘s’. I’m trying to achieve this in the Builder.

**What did you try to make it work?: I added the Microphone component in the trial and wrote “if event.getKeys([‘r’]):
mic.start()”
if event.getKeys([‘s’]):
mic.stop()" in Each Frame in the Code component. The experiment could run at some times. However, the file of the recording output is empty or has no sound. I have consulted the Documentation on the official website which says “You need to switch on the microphone before use, which can take several seconds.” I don’t know whether the dysfunction of the Microphone component is due to this or not.

Sorry for my poor English if this description makes you confused :cry: And also sorry for my ignorance in Psychopy. :cry:

Hi There,

I think you want 2 routines here. The first will have a basic keyboard component (where “allowed keys” is “r”) and some text reading " press r to start recording" the second will just need a microphone component and a keyboard component to stop the recording.

For an example how to use this, open builder view, go to “demos” (top task bar) > unpack demos then return to demos > feature demos> microphone

Hope this helps,
Becca