psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Create blocks with two steps and combine image with text

Hello all,

I am new to Psychopy and I am using the Builder view.

I am running version 1.85.4 on a Mac laptop.

I would like to create a timed Truth Value Judgment Task.
Each trial would include both image and text and would have the following structure:
• Step 1: Present an image together with a background text
• Step 2: Present the same image with a target sentence and ask the participants if the sentence is TRUE or FALSE

There are 8 different stories (i.e. 8 different images accompanied by text) and 24 target sentences, 3 for each story. That is, the stories will get repeated 3 times, each time with the same image and background text but with a different target sentence.

I would also like to randomise the trials, so that the order of trials is different for each participant.

I’ve read the blocks of trials and counterbalancing page and tried to follow the demo on BlockedTrials, but for some reason the images do not appear when I run the experiment (I can see the text).

I am not sure how to build my experiment and the tutorials I’ve found thus far do not address the issue of combining text and image or creating items with this 2-step procedure I would like to have.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

All the best,
Dimitra

Hi Dimitra,

First of all, well done for describing exactly what you want to do. That is half the battle.

PsychoPy can certainly do what you want, with no special arrangements. Your conditions file will need to have 24 rows and four columns. The first column is the background sentence and the second is the image file name. Each pair of those values will be repeated across three rows. The next column contains the target sentences, with a unique one per row, and the last column indicates whether or not that target sentence is true. In the loop dialog, you’ll select ‘random’ for the loop type so that the order varies across subjects.