Automatically incrementing participant number?

I’d like my experiment (run on pavlovia, interfacing with sona) to automatically assign a participant number, based on how many participants have completed the experiment. In other words, I want the first participant to be assigned participant number 1, and the next participant to be assigned participant number 2 (unless participant 1 failed to complete), and so on. I understand that it’s possible to incorporate participant IDs into links from sona, but unless I’ve missed something, those have to be hard coded rather than increment with experiment completions. Can anyone point me in the right direction? Thanks for reading!

Jon

1 Like

Do you have Qualtrics? I would like Sona to Qualtrics, add a participant ID there (see these notes for how), then redirect to PsychoPy with a URL than includes participant=id and then finally back to Sona.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. I’ll have to look into Qualtrics, as I’ve never used it before. Does this mean there’s no way to do this inside PsychoPy? Cheers!

If you don’t have Qualtrics then this isn’t a reason to get it. It’s not free.

The issue is that Pavlovia won’t save to custom files.

Why do you want consecutive ids? Why not just use the randomly generated id variable you can get from Sona?

Thanks again. The issue is that I have a custom counterbalancing of stimuli based on participant number, so I want one participant for each participant number (restricted to 1-30). It turns out my university does have qualtrics but I’ve never used it and fear that adding two new platforms (haven’t used psychopy before either) in one experiment is asking for trouble. I’ll look into the sona random id variable to see if that will work - is that a fairly easy tweak? Cheers!