Linking participant ID from qualtrics

Hello,

I have a survey in Qualtrics and I would also like participants to complete the Stroop test using PsychoPy online (I cannot use it in the lab due to COVID). Qualtrics has a function to redirect participants at the end of a survey to a URL. I have heard that you can add code into this URL to copy the participant’s ID from Qualtrics across to PsychoPy, so that I can link a participant’s data across the two platforms. Does anybody know how to do this? As the participants will be completing the studies in their own time and in their own homes, I need it to be set up so they don’t have to enter their own participant ID (as they won’t know it). I appreciate any guidance on this as I am new to PsychoPy and also new to coding.

Thank you so much,
Olivia

Hi Olivia,

In Qualtrics you can set the ResponseID in the Survey Flow as embedded data. You could then pass this to Pavlovia using ?participant=${e://Field/ResponseID}

ResponseID is unique, just not very pretty.

Best wishes,

Wakefield

I’m having some issues passing ResponseID to Pavlovia. I’m able to pass a constant to Pavlovia as the participant number (e.g. ?participant=123) but whenever I try to pass an embedded data variable (e.g. ?participant=${e://Field/ResponseID}), I get an error message at the very end about the results not being saved:

Hello! I’m not sure if you’re also using SONA to give participants credit, but I made a SONA → Qualtrics → Pavlovia → back step-by-step to transfer participant IDs. If you’re not using SONA, you can just skip that section and set up a random ID variable in Qualtrics and bring it to Pavlovia using the rest of the instructions.

2 Likes

That’s interesting.

I have been able to save log files with ResponseID as the participant, but I’m saving to Database rather than CSV. It might be that it’s better to pass ResponseID as session and have a random number or quota as the participant number itself.