jsQUEST: A Bayesian adaptive psychometric method for measuring thresholds in online experiments

Please let me introduce jsQUEST I developed.
This is a JavaScript library for a Bayesian adaptive psychometric method for measuring thresholds in online experiments.

GitHub repository

How to use jsQUEST

I’m currently trying to use jsQUEST with PsychoJS, but it’s not working yet.
Does anyone know how to load an external JavaScript file to a PsychoJS file? Or is there any documentation available on how to do that?
I can manually rewrite the file output by PsychoPy builder, but it will be automatically rewritten when I upload it to Pavlovia.

As you know, QUEST is implemented in the desktop version (offline) of PsychoPy.
Ideally, jsQUEST would be formally integrated into the PsychoPy builder and work together with PsychoJS.
I would love to help with this, but unfortunately, I am not a PsychoPy developer and have no knowledge of it.

I would be very happy if PsychoPy developers would be interested in jsQUEST.

1 Like

Try the following in a Before Experiment code component tab

import jsQUEST from 'https://www.hes.kyushu-u.ac.jp/~kurokid/QUEST/jsQUEST.js';

1 Like

Hey! In the repo I see that a numeric.js and (perhaps) an interp1.umd.min.js need to be imported too. In PsychoJS we lean heavily on ES6-style modules, but I guess that should work out. Let me try something out…

1 Like

Hey again! Here you can find a demo of jsQUEST in PsychoJS: Thomas Pronk / demo_jsQUEST · GitLab

Note that I needed to use a different way of importing jsQUEST than I described above. The alternative approach acts more like including a JS file into a web-page than importing an ES6 module. It works like a charm, but for future development, I’d recommend packaging the library as a module. That makes it a bit easier to import and is a bit safer when jsQUEST is used in relatively complex applications.

2 Likes

Thank you for your cooperation. I am very impressed that you even made a program!