How to randomize two different conditions?

Hi everyone,
Right now I have an experiment that has two conditions: map and text. The text condition can be seen in the picture in Trial2_Text1_2. What I want to do is to add another variable to text, making that condition has two “versions” of the text, but only one would be presented to the participant during the experiment randomly. For instance, one participants would see the one version of the text and another participant would see the second version of the text.
I tried to use blocks like it is explained here but the two texts were presented when I tried, not only one.
I’m very new to PsychoPy and I’m still trying to figure it out so I would be very thankful if anyone could help.

I’m not really sure of your needs here, but if you are just one to present one of the two rows of a conditions file as per the linked explanation on blocking, then you could put an expression like this in the “Selected rows” field of the relevant loop dialog box:

np.random.choice((0,1),size = 1)

i.e. if your conditions file has two rows (numbered 0 and 1), and you just want to randomly select one of them rather than cycle through both, that should do the trick.

Hi Michael,
Thank you for your reply.
I believe I didn’t explain well so I will try again.
On my text condition right now, I have 14 sentences(think of this as text 1) that are presented separated during the trial like in a PowerPoint. What I’m trying to do is to add other 14 different sentences(think of this as text 2) to be presented in the text condition. However, I want the text 1 and 2 to be randomly presented to participants. For instance, participant 1 would see only text1 while participant 2 would see only text2.
Does it make sense now?

1 Like

OK, so you create two different conditions files, say text_1.csv and text_2.csv. All you need to do is control which condition file name is used in the loop that controls your trials.