Question about loops and randomized conditions

Windows 10
PsychoPy version 1.83.04
Hey I am an undergrad student working on my thesis. I very new to psychopy, and know very little about python (but I can learn and know a little about coding).

I am doing a cognitive condition task. Where a word appears in the centre of the screen, followed by a target stimuli located at the top or bottom of the screen depending on word valence ratings from a previous experiment. Each trial is followed by a test to see if participants actually read the word that appear by asking them to select one of two words.
What I am trying to do-
For the word reading test after each trial, I want to choose what the other word may be, but randomly choose 1 word out of the other 39 in that category. For example, if I have a list of 40 positive words and on this specific trial happy is the stimuli presented, followed by the target stimuli appearing up. I want the other words that could be chosen, also be out of that list of the remaining 39.

What did you try to make it work?
Well I tried brute forcing it first to make sure that it actually works, but the issue is that based on my other conditions (timer, word stimuli, L/R for where the target word appears in the recognizing task, and the pool of other words. My excel file begins to have way too many trials (40k+). What I want is to be able to tell psychopy to choose 1 of the 39 other words, and still have know which was the word stimuli being presented for each trial. Each target word may appear only 10 times, but the other word that they have to choose from needs to be unique each iteration.
I could also continue to bruteforce it, and have a unique iteration of the experiment for each participant, where I randomly pick which words will be paired with with conditions. I know there is an easier way, but not sure how.

Hello,