Getting input to psychopy from a Python script which performs animal tracking

Hi, I’m relatively new to Psychopy. I am comfortable with coding in Python and have written my own tracking software to track a single animal while performing tasks. I would like to “feed” tracking coordinates into Psychopy from my own script, so that I can design closed-loop experiments using Psychopy’s excellent visual stimulation characteristics. Has anyone done this before. From an in depth search I was unable to find out how to communicate with Psychopy from another independent script. I am using the standalone version of Psychopy, as the “pip” installation just won’t work on my machine. Thanks for any feedback!
Kindest regards. Mauro

It depends what you mean by “communicate with psychopy”. Running two scripts in parallel and having them communicate would be tricky. Is there any reason you can’t simply run your own Python script in PsychoPy and add stimulus presentation to it directly? If you need additional libraries that aren’t included in PsychoPy you can add them to the standalone install: Adding new python module to standalone psychopy

There’s also the option of making your script into a library and adding it to your standalone PsychoPy installation, which you could then import into a Python script, but that’s just a way of implementing what I describe above. It basically comes down to whether you can run your code in PsychoPy’s environment.