Fatal Python error: (pygame parachute) Segmentation Fault)

Mac OS El Capitain
PsychoPy 1.84
Standalone

I am trying to create an fMRI experiment in which the subjects see a tweet about a certain company, then a questionnaire in which they respond either by 1, 2, 3, or 4 (because these are the numbers linked to the fMRI compatible controller). I have 6 different blocks, each of which have 16 different tweets within them (there are 16 unique tweets for each of the 6 companies). There are also 16 questions they respond to as well, however these questions are the same for each block (each block is a company). so the idea is this:

block1(fixation cross (3s) --> tweet (4s) --> question and response (8s) --> loop until all 16 tweets and questions have been seen) ---------> block2 is the identical idea the only difference being the 16 unique tweets to it. then block 3, 4, etc.

So I am using the builder view because I am fairly new to programming, and it has been working fine, however i randomly receive this error message during block1.

python[5310:423012] ApplePersistenceIgnoreState: Existing state will not be touched. New state will be written to /var/folders/r_/jpvs_nts6kgflw5txp58fk7w0000gn/T/org.psychopy.PsychoPy2.savedState
/Applications/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/openpyxl/reader/worksheet.py:322: UserWarning: Unknown extension is not supported and will be removed
warn(msg)
Fatal Python error: (pygame parachute) Segmentation Fault

Can anyone give me some insight as to how to fix this? Thanks a lot.

1 Like

I have python 3.4 also I forgot to mention.

Should I try an use the older versions of psychopy and python?

Your Python 3.4 installation is irrelevant. Standalone PsychoPy uses its own (Python 2.7)
I also don’t _think_that the problem is caused by using too new a version of PsychoPy.

The issue seems to be with your excel file not loading. Could you provide that so we can see if something’s wrong with it?

Hey Jon,