Error "font not found locally" in the latest release of Psychopy

PsychoPy version: 2021.1.2
Standard Standalone?: yes

Question description:
I just updated the latest Psychopy (2021.1.2) on my Mac. When I run my experiment (which was built on Psychopy 2020.2.10), I found this notice — “Font '宋体’ not found locally, will attempt to retrieve from Google Fonts when this experiment next runs”. Other fonts have the same problem, no matter they are Chinese fonts or English fonts.

This error has never appeared in the 2020.2.10 version. All the fonts have already installed locally by default.
How should I fix this? Thank you very much!

p.s. This is my first time posting on this forum and English is not my mother tongue, please forgive me if I posted anything inappropriate.

1 Like

Usually this alert isn’t anything to be worried about - it’s just a warning that PsychoPy will connect to the internet and attempt to get a font from Google. However, if you have 宋体 installed locally, then this suggests that PsychoPy isn’t finding it.

When you open Font Book on your Mac, does the name of the font appear as 宋体 or is it translated to latin characters (e.g. Song Ti)? It may be that PsychoPy is looking for a font name different than the name it’s installed under. If so then you should type the font name as it appears in Font Book.

This was most likely the case in the previous version too, it’s just that the warning hadn’t been added yet - your text was probably being displayed in Arial (the default font).

Thank you very much for your answer.
First, 宋体 and other daily used fonts have already installed on my Mac. In my Font Book, all the fonts of Chinese characters are in their Chinese name instead of in Latin characters (in the following picture, highlighted in blue). Similarly, the font names for English text are in Latin characters.