Cedrus response pad implementation

Hi, I’m a (newish) Psychopy user and I’ve been trying to integrate a Cedrus RB 740 response pad in a simple priming study. However, I got this error message:

buttonBox.status = NOT_STARTED
NameError: name ‘buttonBox’ is not defined

I’ve downloaded pyxid (and the response pad USB driver) and tried to use both v1.83.4 as suggested by another user and v1.84.2 of Psychopy. I’ve never used Cedrus response boxes before and certainly not in PsychoPy, so I was wondering if you could give absolute newbie me some (detailed and written for dummies :sweat_smile:) advice for implementing the response pad through the builder view.

I am attempting to do the same thing and I get the same errors. I have also started a thread on the cedrus forum (here), but have not received a response yet. Does anybody have any insight?

Hi,

The IT department where I work came to the conclusion that cedrus response pads are not compatible with Macs, which is what I was trying to run my experiment on. I’d also got through to Cedrus at one point and they said they would add a dedicated support page for PsychoPy users, but I don’t know what came of that. Other than that, I’m afraid I don’t know any more.

Thank you for the information. That is rather disheartening. I used a different cedrus button box with psychopy (on a mac) in the past. Hopefully, there is a workaround. I still haven´t heard back from tech support, but I’ll post back if I figure something out.

I have no solution, but trying a lot of combinations worked for me (so: don’t give up hope!):