Cedrus Responsebox doesn't working

I tested two RB series response box in two different MAC OS (OS 10.10), but got same error messages.

/var/folders/vh/44ll8l6d7gv6_61nx9vmhrpr0000gn/T/org.psychopy.PsychoPy2.savedState
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Temp/test”, line 110, in
if t >= 0.0 and buttonBox.status == NOT_STARTED:
File “/Applications/PsychoPy2.app/Contents/Resources/lib/python2.7/pyxid/pyxid_impl.py”, line 433, in getattr
return getattr(self._impl, attrname)
AttributeError: ‘ResponseDevice’ object has no attribute ‘status’

Current solution : use 1.83.4
I tried 1.84.2 with pyxid copied from 1.83.4 but still doesn’t work.
It seems the problem is related to new pyserial or pyo.

Hi, I’m a newish Psychopy user and I’ve tried what you suggested for a similar Cedrus response pad problem. However, I got this error message:

buttonBox.status = NOT_STARTED
NameError: name ‘buttonBox’ is not defined

I’ve never used Cedrus response boxes before and certainly not in PsychoPy, so I was wondering if you could give absolute newbie me some (detailed and written for dummies) advice for implementing the response pad through the builder view :slight_smile:

Dear cnsla and Irina,

I had a similar problem a little while ago, I asked Cedrus, and this is what they told me:

\Quote:

Here’s the background story.

We use USB chips manufactured by FTDI (www.ftdichip.com). There are two types of drivers available: VCP and D2xx. VCP is the virtual COM port driver, the one that emulates the serial port. It is convenient because all the software written to communicate with a serial port will continue to work.

However, the precision of the VCP driver is in the 5-10ms, with some variability. We have spent considerable time on our I/O subsystem to switch from VCP to D2xx drivers because we can then obtain a 2ms delay that is jitter free.