TypeError:TypeError: decoding Unicode is not supported

Hi all,

I am new to PsychoPy and creating a simple lexical decision task using Builder in PsychoPy 2 (1.84.2). This a very preliminary version of my experiment works without any problems on Mac (OSX 10.11.6) but when I tried to replicate it on a stimulus presentation computer (Windows 8) it only loads a grey screen and than gives an error: **File “C:\Program Files (x86)\PsychoPy2\lib\site-packages\psychopy-1.84.2-py2.7.egg\psychopy\visual\text.py”, line 274, in text**
_ self.dict[‘text’] = unicode(text,“utf-8”)_**
TypeError: decoding Unicode is not supported_**

(see attachments)

I have also re-created the same condition files (.xlsx) on this PC, so that I don’t need to transfer any files from Mac but this did not work. I’ve tried a couple of things in the script (replace u’text object’ with unicode (“text”, ‘utf-8’) but this also did not work. I don’t really know enough about Python to have more ideas about this error, rather than that it is related to coding text objects.

Does any of you have more thoughts on this error? Any thoughts will be appreciated!

Many thanks,

Alena

Hi Alena,

Please post all of the error message: most of that huge screen shot wasn’t relevant code, and I think the bulk of the error message was hidden. Just copy and paste it into a message.

But the problem seems to be related to updating the contents of a text stimulus. Can you also show us how you are doing that?