Trials progress in Pavlovia is not working for me

Hi everyone!

I am relatively new to PsychopPy and Pavlovia, and I would appreciate help with my problem.
I have a simple experiment with 40 trials, in each trial a participant listens to a short audio file and evaluates politeness of the frase by clicking a “Likert-scale” slider.

My participants are second language students and in order to keep them motivated I really need to show them a progress bar or a trials counter (how many phrases are there remaining).

Since I can’t code in Python yet and only use Builder, I found a ready-made solution in the exercises to the book “Building Experiments in PsychoPy” by Jonathan Peirce and
Michael MacAskill. The answer to exercize 6.2 “showProgress” proposes the following:

Begin experiment
progressMsg = “”
Begin routine
progressMsg = “{}/{}”.format(currentLoop.thisN, currentLoop.nTotal)

This solution works perfectly locally but does not work online in Pavlovia. I guess the reason is here (please see the image attached below).

Could anyone help me make it work in Pavlovia? Probably the book has the answer, but I haven’t had the time to read it, and the experiment is a bit urgent.
I would be deeply grateful, and sorry once again for the naive question.

Kindest regards,
Pavel

Edited: Here’s the link to the experiment: polite_russian [PsychoPy]
It is in Russian, but just always press spacebar to proceed

Hi there!

This demo should do what you want :slight_smile: https://gitlab.pavlovia.org/lpxrh6/showprogress

For context, you did this exactly right to work locally but currently there are a couple of issues preventing this running online:

1. python formatted string translation: the .format method doesn’t translate smoothly at present - so we use the ‘+’ method when getting online.
  2. thisN does not exist in JS.

Hope this helps,
Becca

1 Like

Hi Becca!

Thanks for your precious help!