Problem Syncing with Pavlovia (Unable to create javascript)

First of all, thanks to everyone who responds to the forum. I have had to switch all of my experiments from in-person to online and this forum has been a great help. This is my first time posting, so please excuse any mistakes I make.

I have an experiment that works perfectly on my desktop (macOS) but fails to sync with pavlovia. I believe the issue occurs when psychopy tries to write the javascript for the experiment. From the traceback my guess is that the psychopy is having trouble with some code I added to select the conditionsFile

I used a code snippet to randomly assign participants to different conditions. In the conditionsFile, I used some ‘code’ I found on forums $‘inst_’+cond+’.xlsx’ to select the right excel file. This ‘code’ works in other experiments so I don’t think that is the issue. Below is the code snippet that starts the experiment and the Traceback.

Hopefully, I provided enough information. If it would help, I can upload the folder.

Here is the code snippet (in Begin Experiment).

The python version:
import random
cond = random.choice([‘control’,‘comp_orig’, ‘comp_scale’, ‘familiar’]) #Selects the condition
set = random.choice([“1”,“2”,“3”,“4”]) #selects the set
pos = random.sample([-0.5, 0.5], 2) #changes the position of the response options
pos_a = pos[0]
pos_r = pos[1]

The javascript version:
var shuffle = function (array) {

var currentIndex = array.length;
var temporaryValue, randomIndex;

// While there remain elements to shuffle...
while (0 !== currentIndex) {
    // Pick a remaining element...
    randomIndex = Math.floor(Math.random() * currentIndex);
    currentIndex -= 1;

// And swap it with the current element.
    temporaryValue = array[currentIndex];
    array[currentIndex] = array[randomIndex];
    array[randomIndex] = temporaryValue;
}

return array;

};
condition = [“control”,“comp_orig”, “comp_scale”, “familiar”][Math.floor(Math.random() * 4)];