Name Error in Builder, trying to play sound file

Hello!
I am a complete novice, so please be patient with me.

I am trying to run a number of sound stimuli linked from an excel sheet. I get this message error (see attached).

I have set “on every repeat” instead of “constant”, which I gather is a common error.
I cannot, for the life of me, understand the problem.
Many thanks,

Olivia

Update
Full error message

Running: C:\Users\Utilisateur\Desktop\Music Project\EXPERIMENT\Music_Training_exp__lastrun.py
pyo version 0.8.0 (uses single precision)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Program Files (x86)\PsychoPy2\lib\site-packages\psychopy-1.84.1-py2.7.egg\psychopy\gui\qtgui.py”, line 215, in handleLineEditChange
e))
UnicodeEncodeError: ‘ascii’ codec can’t encode character u’\xe0’ in position 0: ordinal not in range(128)
File “C:\Program Files (x86)\PsychoPy2\lib\site-packages\psychopy-1.84.1-py2.7.egg\psychopy\gui\qtgui.py”, line 215, in handleLineEditChange
e))
UnicodeEncodeError: ‘ascii’ codec can’t encode characters in position 0-1: ordinal not in range(128)
e))
UnicodeEncodeError: ‘ascii’ codec can’t encode character u’\xe0’ in position 0: ordinal not in range(128)
C:\Program Files (x86)\PsychoPy2\lib\site-packages\openpyxl\reader\worksheet.py:322: UserWarning: Unknown extension is not supported and will be removed
warn(msg)
File “C:\Users\Utilisateur\Desktop\Music Project\EXPERIMENT\Music_Training_exp__lastrun.py”, line 729, in
Scale_Stimuli.setSound(Scale, secs=-1)
NameError: name ‘Scale’ is not defined

Hi Olivia,

Have you made sure that you’ve got the case right? Is it Scale or scale in your conditions file? Spelling can also be an issue too!

BW

Oliver

1 Like

You could also attach your conditions file and we might spot something off.

2 Likes

Hi Oliver,

Yes I checked and that’s not it…
Thank you though!

Olivia