Measuring response time with mouse component

OS (e.g. Win10): macOS 10.5
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 3.1.5
Standard Standalone? (y/n) Yes
What are you trying to achieve?: I want to measure the response time of the participant clicking a visual.ButtonStim.

What did you try to make it work?: I tried using the mouse component and putting the name of the button stim into the ‘clickable stimuli’ field in the mouse component.

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?: Mouse.time in the output measures the time of any mouse click on the screen, not only on my button stim (which is what I want to achieve).

I am new to PsychoPy and I would be very grateful for any suggestions on how I can achieve this or any insights on what I might not have understood correctly.

Hi @lilly, have you selected to end the routine on “valid click” and set the mouse save state to “final”?

Hi @dvbridges, thank you for your reply. I have not selected to end the routine on “valid click” because this is not supposed to happen as the participants have a certain amount of time for this routine and should be able to change their decision during that time. Is there a way to store the response time of the last click on the button?

If you want the mouse response saving on the button click, you can use the following code in the Each Frame tab of a code component:

if <yourButton>.buttonClicked():
    thisExp.addData("mouse.trial_time", t)  # Save time relative to start of trial
    thisExp.addData("mouse.mouse_time", mouse.mouseClock.getTime())  # Save time relative to start of mouse
    continueRoutine = False
1 Like

I tried to do this but I got this error message:

if ButtonLeft.buttonClicked():
TypeError: buttonClicked() missing 1 required positional argument: 'mouse'