psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Is it possible to play continuous sound in Builder?

Hi, I would like to play a .wav file continuously throughout an experiment using Builder, PsychoPy3 2020.1.2 (MacOSx 10.13)

Unfortunately, the sound file is automatically stopped when a response key is pressed, which I would like to avoid.

If I deselect ‘Force end of routine’ or ‘Discard previous’ within the response component, the program does not move on to the next trial.

Is there a way to play a sound file independently of/uninterrupted by the trial routine?
Thank you!

Perfect, thank you! It works like a charm. I am new to PsychoPy and it took me a while to figure out that the code component can be found within the Custom Components in the Builder.

Hi, I am now running into a related problem.

When wanting to run this experiment online, I receive the error message ReferenceError: sound is not defined

Within the code component I selected ‘both’ and I thought this would take care of translating my code to JS for online use. Is there a steo that I am missing?

Thank you.

The code reads as follows:

//Begin experiment
JS: background_sound = new sound.Sound(“traffic.wav”);
Py: background_sound = sound.Sound(‘traffic.wav’)

//Begin routine
JS:
if ((practiceTrials.thisN === 0)) {
background_sound.play();
}

Py:
if practiceTrials.thisN == 0:
background_sound.play()

You are right, if there are both Python and Javascript equivalents of custom code snippets like this, Builder will automatically use the appropriate one, depending on whether you are running locally (Python) or online (Javascript).