Images not displaying in self-paced reading experiment

URL of experiment: Sign in · GitLab

Description of the problem:
I’m trying to create a self-paced reading experiment through PsychoPy which I can run online. Participants would read a sentence one word at a time, and then choose one of two images which best represents the sentence they previously read. Since I’m a linguistics student with little coding knowledge, I’m using the builder.

For the self-paced reading routine, I’ve been through the very helpful PsychoPy Python to Javascript Crib Sheet to help me debug parts of the reading_code component which weren’t translating from Python to JS.

When I run the experiment on PsychoPy it works great, but when I run it through Pavlovia, the image which should appear after the first sentence does not display. A blank screen appears and I have to press ‘esc’ to end the experiment. Before I added the reading_code component to make the sentences appear one word at a time, the pictures displayed normally, so I don’t think this is an issue of where I’ve stored the image files. I’ve also pasted the JS from the reading_code component here:

var _pj;
function _pj_snippets(container) {
    function in_es6(left, right) {
        if (((right instanceof Array) || ((typeof right) === "string"))) {
            return (right.indexOf(left) > (- 1));
        } else {
            if (((right instanceof Map) || (right instanceof Set) || (right instanceof WeakMap) || (right instanceof WeakSet))) {
                return right.has(left);
            } else {
                return (left in right);
            }
        }
    }
    container["in_es6"] = in_es6;
    return container;
}
_pj = {};
_pj_snippets(_pj);
var _kb;
kb = event.getKeys({"timeStamped": true});
if ((kb.length > 0)) {
    if (_pj.in_es6("space", kb[0])) {
        try {
            nextWord = word_list.shift();
            text.text = nextWord;
        } catch(e) {
            continueRoutine = false;