How do i repeat trial? Seems like it should be an easy thing to do but I can't get it to work

I am new to psychoPy and I am so confused. This is a very simple experiment, I just need my trial to repeat six times. I inserted a routine (a 40 second video is played, beeps and an image pop out at random intervals) which displays just fine and then I insert a loop to repeat this routine six times in total. After some reading I saw that nreps is number of repeats of your conditions and not the number of repeats of my routine, hence I set this to 1. Then, from what I understood, you have to create six conditions but when I try to do this I get the following error

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\PsychoPy3\lib\site-packages\psychopy\app\builder\dialogs\dlgsConditions.py", line 552, in onOK
    if not self.save():
  File "C:\Program Files\PsychoPy3\lib\site-packages\psychopy\app\builder\dialogs\dlgsConditions.py", line 609, in save
    pickle.dump(self.data, f)
TypeError: write() argument must be str, not bytes

Iā€™ve also tried setting nreps to 6 and touching nothing else in the loop but that doesnā€™t do anything.

What am I doing wrong? It feels like this should be the easiest thing to do :confused:

Attached below is experiment file with nreps = 6

gligalab.psyexp (14.3 KB)

Iā€™m not sure if this is the answer you are looking for, but creating blocks of trials might help you design an experiment where trials (not conditions) are set to be repeated. Please refer to this link:

Blocks of trials and counterbalancing

1 Like

Thanks for responding, much appreciated. Unfortunately Iā€™m extremely confused by the guide as it doesnā€™t do a great job explaining and makes jumps in what might be the knowledge level of the reader (and mine is low!). Itā€™s also trying to create more complex methods from what I want to do. I just want my trial to repeat six timesā€¦

Dear Achilles,