Getting 'None' for Rating Response in Output

Mac OS Mojave
PsychoPy 3.0.5
Hello! I’m a PhD student trying to run an experiment on music, and I keep getting ‘None’ instead of a numerical response for the VAS scale in the output.

At first, the ‘None’ appeared only when the reaction time was faster than 1 second, and so my colleague and I modified the ‘Mouse’ settings for start and stop duration.

Now, the problem seems to persist even with no restrictions on response time, and we are no longer able to at least retrieve the last mouse position in ‘Rating History’.

Thank you very much in advance for any help on this issue which has been persisting for months!

Hard to know what would cause this. Are you able to update to a newer version though? Also, is this in the older Rating object or the newer “Slider” object?

cheers,
Jon

In fact I’m facing the same issue. Regardless of the settings, the output file always displays “none” as rating response. I’m using the rating object; not the slider object. Is there any solution to the problem?

Actually I wanted to use the survey component. But since this cannot be displayed online, I wanted to switch to rating scale. I’d be glad if there was any solution.

Please use the Slider not the Rating. The Slider is the one that will work online (and is more likely to work in tha lab as well!)

Thanks a lot for your reply, Jon! Let me just tell you that I really enjoy working with psychopy and it’s great to get help so quickly. However, it is a pity that, for example, the form component can not be displayed online. Is this perhaps still planned for the near future?

Hello! Apologies for the delay in replying Jon!
Faye, seeing as the ‘Nones’ appeared only when the duration was less than 1 second, we resolved the issue was by limiting the duration of the ‘Mouse’ to 0.1 seconds, and the ‘Rating’ duration was set to infinite. Now everything is working fine, hope this helps!