psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Getting an fMRI experiement going regarding screenshots in an excel file

OS (e.g. Win10 or OS X El Capitan):
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x):
What are you trying to achieve?:

I am trying to create an fMRI experiment involving pulling screenshots of twitter messages from an excel spreadsheet and presenting them to participants in the MRI scanner for about 15 seconds each. Within that 15 seconds they will see a question and respond using an MRI compatible controller. Is there an open source script available similar to my needs? I should state I am also a beginner and learning. Thanks!

Any existing script will take as much effort and understanding to modify as it will take to create this simple task from scratch.

Start by ignoring that this is an fMRI study and just get the stimuli displaying from the list in your Excel file and collecting responses from a mouse or keyboard. Once that is done, you can start on the MRI-specific aspects.

2 Likes

Thank you for the response, I know the MRI controller is a simple USB that corresponds to numbers for each finger. Would you say everything I need to know is in the documentation?

Not sure what that means. Do you mean that it acts as a USB keyboard? If so, just treat it as such. If it is a device with its own driver, things get more complicated.

Hey Michael,

I was wondering if you had any insight into this error I am getting:

Mac OS El Capitain
PsychoPy 1.84
Standalone