Generating own logfile

Hey,
I am new to PsychoPy and I am just done creating my first experiment with the builder.
Now I have a question regarding the output file.
Right now I am getting a .log file, a .csv and a .psydat file. But I don’t how I can control or change what is in these files. For my purpose I only need certain information in my logfile. E.g. I don’t need the PsychoPy version in every .csv file.
So I either want to delete columns of the files or I want to generate my own output file, but I have no idea how to do it.
The format (.csv, .log,…) doesn’t really matter.

I would be very thankful if somebody has a code snippet or any tips for me.

Thank you so much!

Regarding the csv files: If you don’t need the information you could write a Python script using the pandas library to remove the columns, you don’t need after the experiment. You could also do the same thing in R, if you are an R user. What program do you use for data analysis?

For the logging file: You can change the logging level in the experiment settings to a higher level to save less logging information. However, keep in mind that you might be grateful for this excess information at a later point for some reason you cannot think of now. Since you use the csv file for your analysis, what harm is there in keeping the log file the way it is.

The psydat format serves a similar purpose as the log file if I’m correct - to help you figure out what code you ran at what point in the experiment. If you just want to reduce your data for the analysis, this is not the file you’re interested in.

Thanks a lot for your help Lukas!

We use R for data analysis, so the format of the file doesn’t really matter, but the output file should be easy to understand for the students.

You are right I don’t need to change anything in the log file when I am using the csv file for analyzing.
I tried using the pandas library to remove the columns but it didn’t really work. Maybe I changed it in the wrong place.