psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Error 'python.exe has stopped working'

Hello,

I’m new to using PsychoPy but I’m having issues creating programmes with sounds.

I managed to create a programme with sounds and run the programme but now I keep getting an error message with ‘python.exe has stopped working’. The sound programme worked this morning so I know it’s not how I have created the experiment in builder, and I have not changed computers so I’m still using the same one for making and running the experiments.

This only happens in the programmes where I have sound files as I have created image programmes with no problems.

Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Laura

Can we see the full and complete error message?

**Hello, I have copied the message I get. **

The programme just stops, then I get a box which appears stating ‘python.exe has stopped working’. The link below shows an example.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=python.exe+has+stopped+working&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&sqi=2&ved=0ahUKEwjT8LWnhPjTAhXEDMAKHY35AdkQ_AUIBygC&biw=1366&bih=632

When I look at the coder view, I see the following:

Welcome to PsychoPy2!
v1.85.1
()

Running: E:\PSYCHOPY STUDY INFO\Quant Experiments\Quant4 Verbal Dual.py

pyo version 0.8.0 (uses single precision)
Fatal Python error: (pygame parachute) Segmentation Fault

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application’s support team for more information.

I had successfully created and ran the programme earlier today but when I came to run the programme a few hours later, this message appeared.

Thanks,

Laura

Sorry, I forgot to add that I am using Windows 7.
Thanks,
Laura

I have recently started getting this problem too Windows 7 and 10. If I take out all sound stimuli it works but this is less than ideal.

This only happens if I run it from the builder. If I hit the “compile script” button and run it from the coder it works. Afterwards I get this output