Different sized stimuli need to appear in the same location

I’m new to PsychoPy (I’ve used SR Research’s Experiment Builder and OpenSesame in the past, but my university has just decided to switch to PsychoPy/Pavlovia for the current time).

I’m trying to recreate an experiment I’ve successfully created in both Experiment Builder and OpenSesame, and one of the first things I need to do is to display my images during a trial. A trial consists of 2 images stacked on top of each other (background image and foreground image). The foreground images are all different sizes, but they need to appear at the same location on the background image (i.e. the top-left corner of the foreground image needs to be in the same spot each time, regardless of the size of the foreground image).

Currently the image moves based on the center of the image (I believe) and the center of the screen, but I need this to change. Also, since the foreground images are different sizes, I’ve changed the units to pixels for this display (so they appear as actual size, since I don’t know how to make them appear at actual size otherwise).

If someone could help, it would be much appreciated!

TLDR; 2 problems: 1. can images be moved based on top-left coordinates, not center? 2. how to show different size images as actual size on one display.

You could set the ImageStim units to ‘pix’ and save the size of your images in pixels (w, h) as a variable with the path of your image in your conditions file. Then, setting the left top is just a matter of subtraction from the center and you could set the size for every picture.

This is just simple geometry. The top-left of the image is displaced relative to the centre of the image by half the image’s width and height. So if you have two variables x and y that represent the coordinates of the top left corner, then set the position of the image like this:

[x + 0.5 * your_stimulus.pos[0], y - 0.5 * your_stimulus.pos[1])