Creating a Distraction Attention Experiment

Hi! I am very new to psychopy and have been watching the videos about the basics. I wanted to create an experiment for my class and I need some help on making the experiment. I wanted to create an experiment where the subjects would have to answer questions that are basic arithmetic. I need a few distractors randomized into the experiment so when they are working out the equation they have distractors present in some trials. I am testing for accuracy and reaction time.

I am not sure how to set this up in terms of data. I have found videos on youtube that explain that having my data in an excel file would be able to do that. Data meaning the questions I want to ask. I am not sure if this is the most convenient way to go about it. Sorry if this all sounds so simple. I am really new and haven’t built psychopy experiments.

You tips and tricks are very welcomed. Also, I am running the 1.82.01 version of psychopy on my Mac laptop with Mojave. I was told not to update psychopy for our specific class because the other versions are not compatible with the experiments we were told to run. Thank you!!

Yes, you should put your questions in a conditions file, but also have a column that indicates whether this trial will have a distractor, something like:

question    answer    distractor
2 × 3       6         False
5 × 6       30        False
9 × 4       36        True
2 × 5       10        True

You can do different things in a trial based on the value of the distractor variable, but we would need to know more about your task to be more specific.

1 Like

Thank you!

So for the distractor variables, there would be distractor sounds and images. I was struggling with how to randomize the sounds and images for the trials. I have gotten my conditions file set and uploaded. The only thing I need to add now is distractors.