Counterbalance across multiple factors

Hi,

I am using builder to create my experiment which will be ran online. I am a bit new to python and don’t know much about coding. I am trying to counterbalance between 4 factors each with 2 levels which would lead to a total of 16 different combinations. I know that I can counterbalance this manually by setting up 16 different files and four different loops in order to do this. However, I am wondering if there may be a more convenient way to do this. Thank you in advance for your help!

Would you like to do so online or offline?

I intend to run the experiment online. I currently am creating an offline version of it in builder and will transform it into an online version.

Check. And these factors, what kind of design do they result in? I.e., what’s exactly the difference between the 16 versions of your experiment?

Hey,

Here is a script that might be useful to get started. I use this to generate conditions files automatically and save that manual work!

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your help!

Basically, I am trying to have my participants solve many maths problems. They will solve it in either blocked format or interleaved format. The factors I am trying to counterbalance are: condition(blocked vs. interleaved); number type(present fraction first vs. decimal first); operation(solve addition problem first vs. multiplication first); problem difficulty (hard first vs. easy first). Thank you for your help!

I see @Becca made a nice suggestion. Would that solve your problem?

Sorry for my delayed response. I suppose Becca gave me a good starting point, but it is a bit different from what I intend to do.
Basically, I have 8 different lists of stimuli containing 9 items in each. There are 16 different orders for me to arrange the 8 lists. I am hoping to retrieve each element from the list randomly.