Conditional Branching/ One stimuli button press to cue another stimuli

Hello everyone! I am new to psychopy and I would like some help building an experiment using the Builder.

I want to present an image A for 6 seconds where the participant can press a space button anytime during that time. If the participant presses the button, another image B will appear on the screen for 6 - t (with t being the amount of time it took the participant to press the button). After those collective 6 seconds, a new image C will pop up and the same decision-making process will occur. However, if the participant chooses not to press the space bar, image A will be displayed on the screen for the 6 seconds with image C appearing afterwards.

Currently, I have the following:

I have made the test image with the space button key press. I think I’ve also made the appropriate excel file with just the image names and what not but I haven’t added any additional columns to that sheet. I have the nReps$ for Press and NoPress loops set to nRepsPress and nRepsNoPress.

I’m not sure this is correct as I’ve based it off of a tutorial for a correct button press and an incorrect button press for one stimulus with each rerouting to a different stimulus. I think mine is a little different because I only have one button option.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!! Thank you!

Hi I’m not quite sure of the logic presented in the screenshots above (you should explain what the variables mean). But no conditional branching should be necessary here, and the whole thing could be done in a single routine.

i.e. define your three image stimuli. A and B are shown from 0 to 6 s, and image C from 6 s onwards. Set image B to have an opacity of 0 (i.e. to be invisible initially).

Insert a code component (above the stimuli). In the Each frame tab, put something like this:

if event.getKeys('space'): # if space key pushed,
    name_of_image_B_stimulus.opacity = 1.0 # make B appear