Can’t run experiments, got a ValueError: embedded null byte

Hello,

I am very new to PsychoPy and get stuck at the very beginning. I’m trying to start with a simple “Hello World” but nothing happened after I click the Running button. I checked the output in the coder view and it shows a ValueError: embedded null byte. I have no idea what does it mean and what is the issue here. : (

I’m using:
Win 7
PsychoPy version:v 3.1.2

Thanks in advance
Ran

Hi @Ran_Ma, could you please copy and paste the whole error message?

Thank you for your reply! Sure! Here it is:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\app\builder\builder.py”, line 2127, in runFile
self.generateScript(fullPath) # Build script based on current version selected
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\app\builder\builder.py”, line 2353, in generateScript
psyexpCompile.compileScript(infile=self.exp, version=None, outfile=experimentPath)
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\scripts\psyexpCompile.py”, line 195, in compileScript
_makeTarget(thisExp, outfile, targetOutput)
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\scripts\psyexpCompile.py”, line 174, in _makeTarget
script = thisExp.writeScript(outfile, target=targetOutput)
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\experiment_experiment.py”, line 187, in writeScript
localDateTime = data.getDateStr(format="%B %d, %Y, at %H:%M")
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\data\utils.py”, line 573, in getDateStr
now = time.strftime(format, time.localtime())
ValueError: embedded null byte

I just tried to run a Hello World demo in the Coder view. And it does worked. I don’t know why it doesn’t work in the builder view. :frowning:

This is another error message when I try to run the Pump buider demo:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “F:\software2\Psychopy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\app\builder\builder.py”, line 2127, in runFile