Audio library not appearing in Preferences (Mac)

Hello! My experiment is not running because I need to change what I have set up in my audio library in the Psychopy hardware. However, that topic is not even showing up in my preferences.

All I have showing up is audio driver, audio device, parallel ports, and Qmix configuration. Does anyone know how to obtain audio library?

For reference, my Mac is macOS Monterey version 12.6.5, and my Psychopy is v2023.1.2.

I am a beginner at Psychopy, so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Hello, could you possibly share the error message you get? (it will be in the “runner” view)

Thanks,
Becca

I’m actually having the same problem with 2023.1.2, but on a windows PC (Windows 10). I don’t have the audio library showing up in my preferences (but it does in the .cfg file). Error message is below.

##### Running: C:\Users\SPPLab\Desktop\Shiloh_Sleep\Sleep_Test_lastrun.py ######
1792.3294     INFO     Loaded monitor calibration from ['2019_07_26 14:43']
2.6098     ERROR     Support for the `sounddevice` audio backend is not available this session. Please install `psychopy-sounddevice` and restart the session to enable support.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\SPPLab\Desktop\Shiloh_Sleep\Sleep_Test_lastrun.py", line 21, in <module>
    from psychopy import sound, gui, visual, core, data, event, logging, clock, colors, layout
  File "C:\Users\SPPLab\AppData\Local\Programs\PsychoPy\lib\site-packages\psychopy\sound\__init__.py", line 135, in <module>
    raise DependencyError(
psychopy.exceptions.DependencyError: No sound libs could be loaded. Tried: ['sounddevice']
Check whether the necessary sound libs are installed
################# Experiment ended with exit code 1 [pid:8292] #################