Animating a figure

Hello,
I am new to psychopy and was wondering if anyone can give me some guidance.
The task I am trying to build is as follows:

1. the user is presented with 10 human figures and needs to select a figure that most resembles herself, one that resembles a friend and one that does not look familiar.
  2. the user then sees a screen with a large circle on it, where the figure that most resembles herself is in the middle, and either the “friend” or the “stranger” is approaching. the user presses a key to stop the approaching figure. this is repeated several times for each figure, from different directions.

The issue I am having is with the animation of the figure.
I know I can use short movies but I am trying to refrain from that since that would mean I would need to manually record 10 (options for figure in the middle) *9 (options for figure approaching)*4 (directions) *2 (genders: male/female) = 720 movie clips.

I am looking for a more efficient way to handle this.

Any tips?
I searched through the demos and could not find one that helped me.

Thanks,
Nira

You could easily move the figure using the pos attribute in the image component - but this wouldn’t create a walk cycle - the image would just move from one side of the screen to the other - for that you’d need to use Flash or some sort of animation package.

For some reason when I try to use the pos attribute the image just flashes quickly and then disappears. I must be doing something wrong

here is what I did:

1. I inserted the image to the trial
  2. in the image settings:
  • I left the start time at 0
  • changed the stop to duration 4 seconds
  • inserted the image path
  • on the pos attribute I typed [frameN,0] and changed the drop down menu to “set every frame”
  • left the rest with default values

What am I missing?
Nira