Videos Freezing in Pavlovia

URL of experiment: Pavlovia

Hello, I am relatively new to PsychoPy and Pavlovia and have been attempting to create an experiment with video stimuli to run on Pavlovia. I have been using the PsychoPy builder. Specifically, in my experiment a fixation cross is shown, a 3-12 second video is played, and then keyboard response options appear. There are approximately 40 videos.

The problem is that some videos will not play; they freeze just as they start and stay that way until response options appear. I have isolated the problem to videos over 6 seconds. Everything 6 seconds and below seems fine, but 7 seconds and up freeze. I tried adding in a 10s static component to help load the stimuli (both with and without fixation cross), but this did not work as intended. Specifically, although the static component appeared when I ran the experiment on my local computer, it will not run when I pilot my task on Pavlovia! I’ve run out of troubleshooting ideas for my video playback problem and for getting the static component to work.

So my questions are: (a) How do I get all of my videos to play (including longer ones)? and (b) How do I get the static component to work on Pavlovia (assuming this might help pre-load stimuli)?

Thanks!
Trevor

Hey Trevor,
how long is the first video that appears and did you put your stimuli in a loop? I assume that pre-loading is done before the experiment so this might not be a problem. It could, however, be that your first video sets sort of a cut-off point for all subsequent videos i.e. if it’s a loop, given that the first video is 6 sec long, all other will stop playing at this timestamp. This problem is known to appear with sound components. If you are not sure, try changing the order in which your stimuli appears and see what happens.

Thanks for the suggestion! I tried reordering the stimuli in variety of ways and found several things: