TypeError '>' not supported between instances of 'list' and 'float' (feedback only after 1.5s)

Hello! I’m trying to make a feedback loop saying “Too Slow!” only when they take longer than 1.5 seconds to respond, but it keeps crashing and I’m new to this so would appreciate some help :slight_smile:

This is the code I’ve put in the begin routine tab: (my text response component is called response1)
if response1.rt > 1.5:
continueRoutine = True
else:
continueRoutine = False

When I run it it works fine skipping the routine but when it takes longer than 1.5s it crashes and says this instead of showing the message:

TypeError: ‘>’ not supported between instances of ‘list’ and ‘float’

Hello Hannah

the following code should work, at least it worked for me:

msg = " "
if (response.rt > 1.5):
    msg = "too slow"
    continueRoutine = True
else:
    continueRoutine = False

put this in the Begin Routine tab. Place the code-element above your text-element, displaying the feedback message, set the text of your feedback text-element to $msg, and set the text to set every repeat.

Best Jens
P.S. I called the keyboard-element response and not response1.

I suspect that you are storing all responses in your keyboard component. That would make response1.rt a list. For the most recent rt you need response1[-1].rt

Alternatively, change the routine to only store one response.

However, you also don’t need continueRoutine=True, just have

if response1[-1].rt <= 1.5:
     continueRoutine=False

Hello

wakecarter’s solution is more elegant and parsimonious. And he found the error that I missed.

Best Jens

Hi I encountered the error of ‘TypeError: ‘Keyboard’ object does not support indexing’ when implementing similar codes
if respKey[-1].rt <= 1.5: msg="too slow"
in the Begin Routine. Any suggestion? Thanks!

Sorry – does respKey.rt[-1] work when storing all keyboard responses?

Also, I think you want >= 1.5 for slow RTs.