Staircase to INCREASE number of dots

Hello! I am creating an experiment where I want to increase the number of moving dots obscuring an image when the participant answers correctly.

The Psychopy staircase handler in builder only allows for a variable to decrease in value on a correct answer. From the previous discussion below it appears I might be able to do this with a negative step size or equation but I’m not sure how to implement it:

I am new to coding but can manipulate bits in the coder or create a staircase code component if needed. Has anyone else had experience making a staircase in this way?

Thanks in advance!

Hi, I’m not too familiar with the staircase, but what about this previous post from that thread:

This should take just a single line of code in a code component to define the variable you use to set the number of dots.

Right, I guess I’m just not sure what arithmetic to use and how it interacts with my step size and minimum/maximum values.

My step size is 25, the number of dots should increase by 25 for correct answers and decrease by 25 for incorrect answers.

I use the variable “level” (the value generated by the staircase) to set the number of dots:

dots = visual.DotStim(win=win, name='dots',
    nDots=level,

How would I transform this? I’ve tried making level or the step size negative (thinking a decrease by a negative value would result in an increase) but I get an error when the number of dots tries to go below zero, ignoring the minimum value for some reason.

OK, I’m flying a little blind here, but I guess it could be something like this (using whatever your variable name is for the starting value):

nDots = (start_value - level) + start_value

e.g. if the starting value is 250, and in response to a correct answer the stair case calculates level as 250 - 25 = 225, this would flip it around in the opposite direction to (250 - 225) + 250 = 275.