psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Selecting subset of image stimuli based on video previously presented for fMRI experiment

timing
randomization

I’m new to PsychoPy and fMRI experiment design, so I’ll need some help selecting randomized and corresponding stimuli
OS (e.g. Win10): macOS Mojave 10.14.3
PsychoPy version: 3.0.3
Standard Standalone? y

1. How do I have PsychoPy randomly select a video and also select the correct subset of images?
    1a) How can I tell PsychoPy to pick 15 images out of the 112 possible?
  2. How do I tell PsychoPy to display the stimuli for 12 seconds even if the participant responds during that time window?
    This experiment is for fMRI, so everything must be displayed on schedule.

In my experiment, I will show my participants a video of a city and afterwards they will see images of the city. There are three different cities (with 3 videos of each city), so there are 3 different types of stimulus sets. One block/one run in the scanner = 1 city video + 1 subset of stimuli. In total, I will have 9 blocks. Here’s the set up of my current flow.

Under the loop “chooseCityVids”, I have a .xlsx file listing the 9 different city video files:

20%20AM

Under the loop “chooseCityImages”, I have a .xlsx file listing other .xlsx files. Each excel file listed here contains the path to each image to be displayed in each block.

11%20AM

Here is an example of one of these excel files:

46%20AM

Under the “imageResponses” loop, I put $cityImages in the “properties” field, which corresponds to the “'chooseCityImages” loop.

What did you try to make it work?:
So far, my videos and images show up and are randomized. However, the subset of images do not correspond with the video. I realize I’ll probably have to add some code to tailor the experiment to my specifications.

Insert code to implement jittered ITI schedule from optseq2 into PsychoPy