Randomisation without consecutive presentations

Hi,

I am trying to build a serial reaction time task (SRTT) with psychopy.

In the SRTT paradigm, four rectangles will be arranged horizontally on computer screen. At the beginning of a trial, one of the four rectangles will change from light to dark. Participants will be instructed to respond as quickly and accurately as possible, by pressing the corresponding button of a standard computer keyboard - “v” “b” “n” or “m”.

The SRTT involves “random trials”. Each “random trial/” will consist of a randomised series of 12 stimuli - 3 repetitions of the keys “v” “b” “n” and “m” (e.g., one trial might be: v-m-n-b-v-n-b-m-n-b-m-v).

My problem is that the “random trials” must NOT include consecutive presentations of one letter (e.g., v-m-n-b-v-n-n-m-b-m-b-v). After searching the discourse, my understanding is that I need to generate a custom code to ensure that this does not occur. However, I am very new to psychopy/coding and am not sure of how to do this.

Is anyone able to please help guide me in generating a code that will constrain the randomisation process so that no one square/keys be presented consecutively?

Thanks!

@Mirjam provides a general solution here:

In your specific case, something like this might work:

• Insert a code component on your trial routine (from the “Custom” component panel).
  • In its “begin experiment” tab, put something like this ( we need to run this at the start of the experiment since the code is non-deterministic: we don’t know how long it will take to run (realistically though, it will be a fraction of a second for only 12 entries):
stimulus_list = ['v', 'b', 'n', 'm'] * 3
shuffle(stimulus_list)

# make sure the same target doesn't appear on consecutive trials
double_stim = False
list_ok = False

while list_ok == False:
    for i in range(len(stimulus_list) - 1):
        # check for equal neighbours:
        if stimulus_list[i] == stimulus_list[i + 1]: