PsychoPy voice recording

If this template helps then use it. If not then just delete and start from scratch.

PsychoPy version: 3: 202.2.5

Fariba Ghanbaryan ghanbaryan.info.res@gmail.com 8:19 PM (13 minutes ago)

to psychopy

Dear buddies,

I am designing a picture naming experiment in PsychoPy 3 (V 2020.2.5) from which I want to get the record of the vocal RTs. I’m not good at software language at all, however, I’ve copied the code component from the PsycoPy demo for the word-naming experiment.

The point is that when I add the code to my experiment, it doesn’t run at al.

Each trial in my task includes: a fixation, a word (with two different SOAs), a noise, an image (which I want to be named), and an intertrial interval.

I have inserted the VoiceKey code in the instruction routine as the beginning of the experiment and in the routine with the image.

The experiment design is as follows:
Thesis Experiment.psyexp (50.5 KB)

I get this error. I followed the link but couldn’t fix the problem.
Alert 4210:JavaScript Syntax Error in ‘Begin JS Experiment’ tab. See ‘Line 1: Unexpected token’ in the ‘Begin JS Experiment’ tab.
For further info see 4210: Probable syntax error detected in your JavaScript code — PsychoPy v2021.2

What could be wrong in this design?

Could you please help me with this?

Thank you

If you’re running locally, what’s probably happened is that one of your code components is set to “auto-JS”, meaning the Python code is automatically translated to JavaScript for running online, and there’s some problem translating it. If you’re not running online then this isn’t needed, so changing it to just “Py” gets around this problem.

It’s also worth noting that in 2021.2.0 we made pretty substantial changes to the microphone component, making it a lot more stable, so it may also be worth updating to the latest version and giving it another go.

Dear TParsons

Sorry, I just checked your response.