psychopy.org | Reference | Downloads | Github

Prevent multiple mouse clicks on clickable stimuli

PsychoPy version: 2021.1.2
Standard Standalone? Yes
What are you trying to achieve?: I am recreating a social rejection task that was previously made in E-Prime 2 in my lab. In the first portion of the task, participants are shown pictures of other gender and age matched “participants.” They are told to select five other participants they would be interested in chatting with. This is done by clicking on one of the photos at the top of the screen. When they click on the photo, the photo replicates at the bottom (in sequential order) and the counter goes up to indicate that their pick has been registered in the computer. The screenshot below shows what it would look like if a male participant chose three other participants:

As a disclaimer, I am incredibly new to Python. This is my first project and I only started learning a few weeks ago. So, it has been a bit of struggle and my code component might not be the most effective and clean way of writing code. I am totally open to suggestions and feedback. With that said, I am having problems with preventing double clicks on the photos.

`This is the code I have in the Begin Routine tab:`
> male_count = 'Males: 0'
> female_count = 'Females: 0'
> photos = [F01, F02, F03, F04, F05, F06, F07, F08, F09, F10, F11, F12, F13, F14, F15, F16, F17, F18, F19, F20]
> male_pos = [(-.72, -.10), (-.60, -.10), (-.48, -.10),(-.36, -.10),(-.24, -.10), (-2, -2)]
> female_pos = [(.72, -.10), (.60, -.10), (.48, -.10),(.36, -.10),(.24, -.10),(-2, -2)]

Here is the Every Frame tab:

> for x in range(0,6):
>     if len(selAmouse.clicked_name) == x and expInfo['gender'] == 'Male':
>         male_count = 'Males:' + str(x)
>         female_count = 'Females: 0'
>         for i in photos: 
>             if selAmouse.isPressedIn(i):
>                 ch = 'F'
>                 name = i.name.lstrip(ch)
>                 pic1 = visual.ImageStim(