Presenting image stimulus after a short video (600ms)

Dear researches,
I am using the 2020.2.10 version of PsychoPy

What do I want to do?: I want to present 600 ms short videos and after the video (.mp4) I want to present a picture (.jpg) for 400 ms right away.

What is the problem?: Although videos are 600ms when I set the duration of the video to 600ms [i.e., start: 1, duration: 0.6 in time(s)] I cannot see the whole video. It seems like it plays until 450-500ms approx and the next image shows up.

I tried to create two routines (i.e., video and picture) under the same loop instead of creating one routine and putting both image and movie components under the same routine. Routine named video only consists of the movie component and ends in 600ms and the next routine has the image and response component. But still, I cannot see the whole video.

This is the first time that I use the movie component so I am not very experienced with it.

-Is it possible that videos are playing slower on Psychopy?
-or should I use Frames instead of seconds regarding the duration of the video?
-or should I make the image component with a conditional start (i.e., start after video finishes). And if yes how can I do that?

Thank you in advance!
Emre

Hey! Just a quick suggestion: try it with the newest PsychoPy. It features a lot of improvements on movies.

Dear @thomas_pronk ,

Sorry for the really late response and thank you for your suggestion.

I have updated my PsychoPy to the newest version however I still have some problems.
My videos are 600 milliseconds (36 frames with a frame rate of 60frames/seconds). When I set the movie component to “frame N = 36”, it seems like not all the videos are played. Around last 100 ms of the video is not played at all.

Is it possible that there are some delays in the online version?

Thank you so much,
Emre

What happens if you set the frame N to 42? Does the last 100 ms play then?