Presenting an image in response to specific keyboard presses within a trial

Background: I am new to psychopy. I am trying to create an experiment using the builder. I know how to create routines and loops using Builder. I know I need to use the code component to do what I want to do but have a hard time coming up with the codes (I have no knowledge in python).

What I want to do: Within a trial, I want to present an image feedback when the participant presses specific combination of keys. For instance, image1 will be presented after 4 presses of ‘n’; image2 will be presented after 4 presses of ‘m’. Each trial lasts 6 seconds. The image feedback has to last for 1 second. I don’t want the trial to end after the image feedback, i.e., the participant could potentially get more than one image feedback within a trial.

This is what I have right now on the builder:

I don’t know what to put in the code component to make it work.

Please, can anyone help?

Hi,

In order for us to be able to help you, I suspect it will be necessary for you to explain your task in a bit more detail. For example:

• What exactly do you mean by “combination of keys”?
  • Do the four presses you mention need to occur in a row?
  • Are ‘n’ and ‘m’ the only keys that could be pressed?

Jan

Thanks. Let me clarify.

• What exactly do you mean by “combination of keys”?