Loop picking one variable from a nested loop

Hi,

I am trying to build an experiment with PsychoPy as I am still kind of new to programming I am trying to this via the builder.

OS (e.g. Win10): Win10
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): 2020.2.4
Standard Standalone? (y/n) n If not then what?:
What are you trying to achieve?:

I want to build an experiment in which two pictures are presented. 1 picture shows a person with an emotional expression and the other person should always have a neutral expression. I want the emotional picture to be a specific picture which is listed in my conditions file. The second neutral picture should be any picture out of a second conditions file (so I kind of thought of it like a nested list in e-prime). My goal is to pick 1 random picture of the list with the neutral expressions and present it together with the specific emotional expression.

What did you try to make it work?:

So, I created 2 excel sheets. One for the outer loop which contains a column with the filenames of the emotional expressions and in a second column I tried to refer to a second excel sheet with contains 10 neutral expressions and want to pick one randomly out of this second excel list.

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?:

Well actually the experiment did not even start it crashes immediatly and does not give me any error messages. May be there is a certain way to achieve what I am think about, but I guess I am not experienced enough.

Thank you in advance I really hope you can help me!!

Having a loop within a loop should work, could you share your .psyexp file?

The not showing errors bug was fixed in 2020.2.5 so if you upgrade your version then you should get error messages at least - or if you make sure your preferences are set so that Builder, Coder and Runner open when PsychoPy starts and then don’t close the Runner window it should also fix the bug.

Hi,