How to select column in conditions file via code component

Hi,

I’m using Builder on a Mac running Catalina OS.

In a code component, I want to conditionally select one of my columns (to refer to my stim) from my conditions xlsx file. If I was doing this in a Text component, I would just use the $ to access that column but I can’t use this in the code component (I tried this below and it doesn’t work and I know this isn’t correct syntax: left2 = “$left1”).

left1 = None 
left2 = None 
right1 = None 
right2 = None 

if expInfo['Order'] == "A":
    left1 = "WOMAN"
    right1 = "MAN"
    left2 = "$left1"
    right2 = "$right"
elif expInfo['Order'] == "B":
    left1 = "$left"
    right1 = "$right"
    left2 = "MAN"
    right2 = "WOMAN"

How else might I do this? I’m new to PsychoPy and could use some guidance!

1 Like

Hi There,

So each header of your conditions file is a variable name. When you use these variables to set parameters of something in the builder view (e.g. the writing in the text) you need to use the “$” to say you are referring to a variable (in your example “left"). However, when you are referring to variables in code snippits there is no need to say you are looking for a variable (this is assumed when coding), so you can just use the variable/header name without the "” sign (i.e. “left”).

Try this:

left1 = None 
left2 = None 
right1 = None 
right2 = None 

if expInfo['Order'] == "A":
    left1 = "WOMAN"
    right1 = "MAN"
    left2 = left
    right2 = right
elif expInfo['Order'] == "B":
    left1 = left
    right1 = right
    left2 = "MAN"
    right2 = "WOMAN"

note that the only difference from your code is that the “$” is not used.

Hopefully this does the trick :slight_smile:
Becca

1 Like

Hi Becca,

Thanks a lot for your response! I’ve tried this, but unfortunately it doesn’t work. I’m getting this error:

left2 = left
NameError: name 'left' is not defined