How to repeat incorrect trials only

What are you trying to achieve?:
I am running a two-alternative forced choice task where participants make judgements about a set of images. It begins with practice task, where participants need to get 100% correct to continue to the main task. I am looking to have incorrect items repeated in a random order.

What did you try to make it work?:
I created an outer loop (with the routine loop nested within it) that repeats the practice trials if less than 100% of items within the first round were incorrect, as per these instructions: Repeat trial if answers are incorrect

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?:
It worked well, but all the practice items are repeated when less than 100% accuracy is achieved, rather than just the previously incorrectly answered items.

I am new to Psychopy and have looked on loads of forums to work out a way around this but haven’t been able to make anything work.

Thanks in advance!!

I’m not entirely sure this will be possible in Builder with a random loop, but a possible route to investigate would be

• controlling the selected rows field of the inner loop. In the first run through, all rows would be selected but afterwards, you would just select the subset of desired rows where the response was incorrect.

I’m just not sure that would really work, because if the loop is randomised, the row numbers might not correspond any more on a subsequent loop. So perhaps this would be an alternative:

• In your conditions file, include a column number with a unique identifier per row (it could just be sequential numbers 1,2,3,…), let’s say that column is called row_id
  • At the beginning of the routine, on the very first trial (when the iteration number of both loops is zero), initialise a list like this:
if outer_loop_name.thisN == 0 and inner_loop_name.thisN == 0:
    wrong_list = []
  • On each incorrect trial, add the unique id to that list, like this: