How to randomize trials so that 24 of 96 trials are rotated each time participant completes

PsychoPy version : 2020.2.5
Standard Standalone? (y/n) If not then what?: Y
**What are you trying to achieve?: randomized partial loops

Hello! I am a beginner in PsychoPy helping on an Interpretation Bias Experiment. The experiment presents participants with an ambiguous sentence and then with a word which they will press the left key for if it is related or the right key for if it is unrelated. Our conditions doc has 96 conditions and 2 parameters with 48 different sentences (each sentence is listed twice with a related word and an unrelated word). The current loop is random with one repetition.

Our goal is that, each time a participant completes the experiment (they will complete it up to 5 times depending on the group they are assigned too), they will receive only 24 conditions for this loop. Of those conditions our goal is to include repeat sentences in the same trial and for them to receive new conditions on the next trial.

My questions are related to the “trial” segment of the experiment shown in the photo attached

What did you try to make it work?:

On the random loop, nReps$ box I entered “0.25” as an attempt to get only 24 of the 96 conditions to show. I am unsure how to approach designating the identical conditions (sentences) with the different parameters (related/unrelated words) so that they are mutually exclusive and one does not appear if the other is shown.

What specifically went wrong when you tried that?:
When I ran the experiment in this way it exited out right when the loop was supposed to start. There was no error message.

Hi There!

Sounds like you are pretty close - except that you want the ‘selected rows’ option rather than the ‘nReps’ option - you could use this to sample 24 rows from your conditions file - does this sound similar to what you need?

Becca

Hi Becca,