How to make marker on rating scale (0 to 10) start from random number

Hi everyone, this is probably basic stuff, I am just new to Psychopy and need some help with making the marker of the rating scale start at random on every trial.

**Win10:
**PsychoPy version 3.2.4:
** I have a Rating scale with numbers from 0 to 10, with the option ‘hover’. All the numbers are white and the mouse-selected number turns orange. The markerStart is set to 5 now (see below). However, I would like to set it to have a random start on every trial.

rating = visual.RatingScale(win=win, name=‘rating’, marker=‘hover’, size=1.0, pos=[0.0, -0.5], choices=[‘0’, ‘1’, ‘2’, ‘3’, ‘4’, ‘5’, ‘6’, ‘7’, ‘8’, ‘9’, ‘10’], tickHeight=-1, markerStart=5)

**I tried to include a code component defining the Marker start as: scale_start = randint(0, 10), and then adding $scale_start at the ‘Marker start’ option on the Rating scale component.

**But if I include this at ‘Begin routine’, the random number is set only once and is used for all trial (e.g. marker start is 7 every time). And if I include this in ‘Each frame’, I get: NameError: name ‘scale_start’ is not defined.

Hi,

I gave this a try and added an additional line to your code to write the starting position of the marker to your data file. Note that I had to change the rating type to triangle (others might work as well), because it does not seem to work visually with ‘hover’ (it does run for me, though).

# set start value for marker
randStart = randint(0, 10)
# write to data file
thisExp.addData('marker_start', randStart)
# initialize rating scale
rating = visual.RatingScale(win=win, name='rating', marker='triangle', size=1.0, pos=[0.0, -0.5], choices=['0', '1', '2', '3', '4', '5', '6', '7', '8', '9', '10'], tickHeight=-1, markerStart=randStart)

Make sure the code component is positioned above the rating component in the trial. The code snippet should be added in the ‘Begin Routine’ tab.

Good luck!

test.psyexp (7.0 KB)

1 Like