How to create a memory experiment with several blocks and different numbers of trials in each block without repeating stimuli in different blocks?

OS (e.g. Win10): Win10
PsychoPy version (e.g. 1.84.x): v2022.2.4

Hello everyone,
I’m new to PsychoPy and could use some help since I’ve been struggling to achieve what I’m trying to achieve for quite a while now. I’ve been searching through the topics and could integrate some of the advices and code components in my own experiment, however, I couldn’t find the answer to all my questions. (By the way, English isn’t my mother tongue, so I’m sorry if some sentences sound a little unusual :smiley: - I’ll try my best though!)

I’m trying to build a memory experiment with 2 practice blocks in the beginning and 5 following “actual” blocks. Each block consists of a study and a test phase. The number of trials varies between the blocks. Nevertheless, in every block the number of test trials is twice the number of study trials
(for instance,
practice block 1: 2 stimuli in the study phase, 4 stimuli (2 old and 2 new) in the test phase;
practice block 2: 4 stimuli in the study phase, 8 stimuli (4 old and 4 new) in the test phase;
and so on …).
I’m wondering if my approach is the right one: For the 2 practice blocks, I created two routines, namely the study phase and the test phase, and put an inner loop around each of the two routines and an outer loop around both of the routines. I’ve done exactly the same for the 5 “actual” blocks, so again I created two routines (study phase and test phase) and put an inner loop around each of the two routines and an outer loop around both of the routines. The latter I did since I’d like to randomize the order of blocks in my experiment.