How to add visual noise to images in Builder?

Dear Psychopy Users,

this is my very first time using Psychopy. Until now it went pretty well, but now I have a problem and I hope that you can help me with it.
I am working in the Builder.
I have different visual stimuli (pictures of stars and circles) and I have to embedd them into a visual noise (that kind of noise you get on TV when there’s no signal) so that one cannot clearly see the shapes.
Until now i made this noise in Photoshop and then just presented the pictures, but the problem is that i have to change the noise according to every participants perception threshold. This would be nearly impossible to do if I make all the noises with photoshop.
That is why I need an easy way to create this noise directly in Psychpy and just put it on the picture.
Is there a possibility to do that in the Builder? I would also be thankful for some helpful code!

Thanks a lot in advance!

Réka

kreisn160

PsychoPy version : 1.85.2

Greetings Réka,

I may have a solution that you could use.

For starters, you can use an ImageStim in builder, but in a slightly different way than normal.
Rather than passing the ImageStim a file name in Image, you can pass it an array that has the RGB (or Grayscale) values you want.

# will use it for noise generation
import numpy as np
# will use it to load images
import scipy.ndimage as spi
# load the image and convert it to a 0.0 to 1.0 range (the range PsychoPy uses with RGB images)
img = spi.imread("stimuli/8.png", mode = "RGBA")/255.0

If you load your images as arrays, you can freely add noise to them.

noise_level = 1.
# generates noise from negative noise_level to positive noise_level (-1 to 1, in this case)
# because the shape of the np noise array is (width, height, 1), it can broadcast onto any number of dimensions, meaning you could use grayscale or RGB and still have the 'white static' look.
presented = img + 2*np.random.random((img.shape[0],img.shape[1], 1))*noise_level-noise_level