How can I use the image files that I defined in the excel file by randomizing them in the same routine?

Hello everyone,
I’m new to Psychopy. I have image files with .bmp extension separated by certain category. I defined these files in excel as follows:

What I want to do is in a single routine; A random picture comes from the ‘stim_16_10’ column when pressing the right arrow key, and a random picture comes up from the ‘stim_16_11’, ‘stim_16_12’…‘stim_16_22’ columns, respectively, when the right arrow key is pressed. Or vice versa, when I press the left arrow key, a random image will come from the ‘stim_16_22’ column, and as I keep pressing the left arrow key, a random image will come from the ‘stim_16_21’, ‘stim_16_20’…‘stim_16_10’ columns, respectively. Then I want to put this routine in the loop. But I couldn’t figure out how to do it. I would be very grateful if you could help me with this. Thank you very much in advance.

Hello Burcu

does the attached toy-example do what you want? You have to press left or right to initiate the trial. A * is displayed. Whenever you press the opposite key in a trial, the trial ends. I used just four columns of text stimuli.

WideStim.psyexp (17.8 KB)
WideStim.xlsx (8.5 KB)

Best wishes Jens

Hello Jens,

Great, it really worked, thank you very much. But that’s not exactly what I wanted to do. I want to make the left and right button presses a continuous button press response. So I want to change images by pressing left or right continuously, not pressing left, left, left… or right, right, right… over and over. Is it possible to integrate this into the toy-example you made?

In addition to this, I want to output the information of the image that the person left on the last screen (or the information of the column to which the image belongs in excel), but I do not know how to do this exactly.

Thank you very much for all your help.

Kind regards,

Burcu

Hello

What do you mean with „a continuous button press“?

Best wishes Jens