Freely viewable sequence of images on single routine (no loop)

Hi, I’m a PhD student, new to Psychopy and definitely new to coding in Python. I’m designing an experiment using the Builder, but will need to use code to achieve one particular part of the experiment.

I want participants to write a description/narration of a storyboard which consists of 22 images. Since they are narrating the whole thing, they need to be able to look through all of the slides at their leisure while they produce and edit their text. For this reason I assumed it would be best to keep it all on one routine.

Here is a quick slide showing more or less what I imagined the storyboard narration routine to look like. The part with the images could consist of some kind of frame including the images, maybe 2 or 3 at a time, and some kind of mechanism for going back and forward through them. I have depicted it with ‘next’ and ‘previous’ buttons, but I don’t really care exactly what mechanism is used, as long as it is easy for participants to use, and easy enough for me (with your help) to create.

I have been told this should be achievable using code, but I wouldn’t know where to start with making it happen. Also if you have any ideas of alternative ways of achieving what I want that you think would be better/easier, I’d love to hear them.

I’d be really grateful if someone can help me! Thank you in advance.

Hi there @Michaeljc53,

A good place to start here might be this YouTube tutorial.

Thanks!

Kim

1 Like

Hi Kim,

Thank you so much for taking the time to reply to my post!

The video is helpful, the only problem is that if I use a loop like she does, wouldn’t that kind of ‘reset’ the textbox and wipe what the participant has written every time the participant changes what image to look at?

Thanks,
Michael

Hi @Michaeljc53,

It would, we can get around this by inserting a code component like the one in this very basic experiment I’ve popped together (attached).